The Beauty of the Rain

“Let the rain kiss you. Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops. Let the rain sing you a lullaby.” ~Langston Hughes

There hasn’t been enough rain this winter in the San Francisco Bay Area. After last winter’s deluge of record, above average rainfall I would usually be doing a happy dance rather than a rain dance. Don’t get me wrong, I love the sunny days and warm temperatures we’ve been blessed with this year. Too, I’m empathetic to other parts of the world that are suffering through tough winter weather. I’ve just changed my perception of how I view the rain and the unpredictability of the weather. It’s a metaphor for life.

Unlike life, high definition Doppler can assist in predicting what weather might be coming our way. But the weather is a lot like life in that it can change in an instant. We have to be able to flow with what changes come our way.

I used to loathe bad weather because it meant staying indoors when I’d rather be outside running, hiking, or sitting outside at the café. It meant changing my plans.

“Be still sad heart and cease repining; behind the clouds the sun is shining; thy fate is the common fate of all. Into each life some rain must fall. Some days must be dark and dreary.” ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I decided that I couldn’t let the weather keep me from the activities I love. Then I found a beautiful handcrafted plaque with the words “the beauty of the rain” written in elegant calligraphy on a sky-blue swirl with crystal clear droplets and white sakura blossoms dangling from silver chains.

My new found perspective had me wondering exactly “Why is the rain amazing?”

The outrageous rainfall last winter brought an explosion of wildlife to my favorite hiking spot; some I’d never encountered there before. Running in the rain is cooling and refreshing. The rain is amazing because it nourishes the earth, nourishing all of us.

Now, I fully embrace the rain. I wish more were on the horizon for this winter season. There really is a beauty in it that brings life, adventure and a comfort in its steady falling that emulates the steady change of life.

“I am sure it is a great mistake always to know enough to go in when it rains. One may keep snug and dry by such knowledge, but one misses a world of loveliness. ~Adeline Knapp

7 thoughts on “The Beauty of the Rain

  1. You’ve always been such a positive influence Gayle. Thank you for your kind words.;o)

  2. Gayle Sisler says:

    susan, your writing is superb. You really need to think about writing a book.

  3. Gerri Davis says:

    Some years ago I followed an urging and attended a performance by the 92 years young Segovia. Teachers had told him he would never play the classical guitar, and never had I attended a formal concert in jeans! My last minute decision left no choice. After the inspiring concert, I knocked on the backstage door. What a special connection.
    Later whiile walking to my car, a warm, soft rain wrapped my
    ‘urging’ into a giftbox of forever memories. I too love the rain.

  4. Lori says:

    You are a true poet my beautiful sister!
    Namaste!

Leave a Reply

