What’s in a Name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” ~William Shakespeare

A little more than a year-and-a-half ago I wrote a name on a piece of scrap paper. In the throes of a heartache that surprised me, but shouldn’t have, it came to me like an unexpected gift. At first, it sat on my desk glaring at me as if to say, “Here I am, let’s get on with it.” “Get on with what?” I would wonder. Finally I slipped the polka-dotted bit of paper into my leather-bound quote book for safe keeping (and to quiet it down). Lately I’d been pulling it out, fingering it, and trying to figure out a way to see how I could try it on for size. “Maybe a character in a novel I’d like to write someday”, I thought wistfully. “Who are you and why are you here?” I mused.

Then, one of the most remarkable people I think I’ve ever met encouraged me to write more of my own stuff and put it out there; to write a blog. Of course, naturally, why didn’t I think of that…and so dear readers I’d like you to meet my nom de plume:

Sahbinah

Although she was an uninvited guest, the name Sahbinah (or Sabine) has intrigued me ever since I saw the movie “The Unbearable Lightness of Being”. Then I discovered this interpretation of the moniker:

In ancient Egyptian “Zah” or “Sah” means sun or “radiating light”. In Ancient Hebrew, Binah means “understanding”. In essence, the name means “radiating the light of understanding” or Enlightenment.

Ever the knowledge junkie I am in hot pursuit of wisdom fueled by a growth mindset.

“The real meaning of enlightenment is to gaze with undimmed eyes on all darkness.”~Nikos Kazantzakis

Violet

Pleasanton Ridge, Pleasanton, CA

Wild Violet

During the period of healing my heart, I decided a total transformation of my personal space was required. I painted my room purple. Not any purple mind you, “Shy Violet”, which is not shy at all but sassy and bold (a bit like me). Plus, violets are one of my favorite flowers. Each spring my thinking spot at my favorite hiking destination is blanketed with the sweetest little wild violets.“Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”~Mark Twain

Flynn

Flynn is Lynn with an Irish accent. I was adopted when I was three months old. The first name that was given to me was “Lynn” (which means pretty and also refers to a lake or body of water), but my parents gave me a new first name. Lynn became my middle name. This is a Celtic or Gaelic blending in honor of my Dad’s Irish heritage and his time spent in the Navy’s Underwater Demolition Team (Seals).

“Every human being has hundreds of separate people living under his skin. The talent of a writer is his ability to give them their separate names, identities, personalities and have them relate to other characters living with him.” ~Mel Brooks 

Sahbinah Violet Flynn is the new vessel on which I will sail into this writing adventure. Thank you for joining me.

 

Please Note: All images and written pieces are the original works of Sahbinah Violet Flynn, unless otherwise noted. Please do not use without permission and link back to me.

32 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. freebirdmani says:

    Hi Sahbinahvioletflynn, as we all or most of us all have a character representing who we are, I do see the deep sense of belongingness in the entity of your expression. The name is where it all begins – from the birth till we die and even beyond it. I am quite impressed by the depth it reflects, the multitude it shares and the enlightenment it shall bring.

    It’s been nice to know you Sahbinavioletflynn, I hope to keep visiting you 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words, Mani…I’ve been really enjoying your adventures/photos on your blog since the summer; it’s been such a fun ride and looking forward to more. All the best, Sahbinahvioletflynn

      • FreeBird says:

        Good to have you around Sahbina if I can address you with that name. I hope to keep you entertained & yeah after watching the “The unbearable lightness of being” I did end up buying the movie for all the more inspirational reasons.

        Cheers
        Mani

  2. nafeesmahmud says:

    Hi Sahbina,
    As a follower of my blog I would like to let you know I am shutting it down. You can check out my new blog at http://www.daseinpetals.com

  3. I love the way you put this together! Very neat the way it all works together.

  4. sameerc19 says:

    You surely seem to win hearts with your words.. Another lovely post

  5. I’m so thankful you stumbled upon my blog! Thank you for visiting and commenting. Truly appreciate it.

    Love this: “radiating the light of understanding” Look forward to reading about your Enlightenment!

  6. Hi Sahbinah

    Found you at Subhan’s site and followed you here. I am pretty new to blogging myself so only just beginning to work out how to get around. I loved the quote you left from Paulo Coelhoe, “If I believe in victory, victory believes in me.”

    Good to remember when the going gets tough.

    I hope you come visit me at soulsnet. I think we might have alot in common.

    Corinne

    • Hi Corinne,
      Thanks for stopping by via Subhan (he’s a beautiful soul). I appreciate your kind words and will most certainly make my way over to your spot in the blogosphere. Best wishes on this new endeavor for you;o)

  7. Really appreciate your blog you have worked really hard for that i appreciate your effort, Hats off may be you too would like in to check my blog http://pratiknayek.wordpress.com/ thanks

  8. Your piece is well written and inspiring…from a fellow seeker.

    • Thanks, David. I appreciate your kind comment/feedback and that it resonated. I think I’m in a perpetual state of rediscovery; everything is so new and exciting everday it seems, or at least I try to make it so ;o)

  9. You sure got an award winning concept here! I love every single bit of your presentation and your strong use of personification! I was visualizing a name written on paper, gazing at you from a desk! Amazing!

  10. Kavi says:

    So well written …:-)

  11. Beautiful in its every dimension, firstly your name and then your words, woven together in this beautiful and inspiring blog, would anyday be the first choice for the Beautiful Blogger Award, yes i feel an immense joy to pass it on to you, visit here and know more http://mythbroakia.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/anouchka-and-the-bundle-of-joy/
    Stay inspired, Stay Mystified! 😀

  12. lifeofministermom says:

    I’ve nominated you for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Check out the details here: http://lifeofministermom.wordpress.com/blog-awards/

  13. Subhan Zein says:

    Hello my new friend,

    I am happy to have found your blog and am gladly following. I think you have done a good job with your blog, so well done! 🙂

    Here I would like to thank you for following my blog. I hope my blog is not disappointing and that you will continue enjoying my blog in each of your visits.

    So thank you again, and lovely day to you! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  14. Shalvika P says:

    This is a beautiful post! An absolutely brilliant way to get to know someone! Loved it 🙂

  15. livvy1234 says:

    A very beautiful introduction to a new friend on the path. So lovely to read your words.

  16. Madhu says:

    Wow! This is the most interesting introduction I have ever read! Now I will HAVE to explore your blog! Thank you for stopping by mine earlier.

  17. What’s in a name, what matters is how ‘real’ a person is. But Sahbinah is a nice name!

  18. cloudoflace says:

    Hello!!

    Hope you’re having a nice day.
    You have been nominated for the Liebster blog award 😀 kindly follow this link:
    http://cloudoflace.com/2012/04/10/im-gonna-cheat-publicly/

    Best,
    Hiba

  19. Peggy McCafferty says:

    Revealing layers of growth and life. We learn each time we search deeper into our lake of being…

Leave a Reply

