Me, Me, Me

My LIFE is a puzzle…

…as I fondle the pieces, I find some that have dazzling shapes and make me say, “OoooH, shiny!”

Others are dark and jagged, broken window panes in a vacant old house.

Still others are bland and formless of countless years spent adrift and floundering.

One odd shape sits to the side yet to find its perfect fit.

What a mottled picture of me; out of focus like an impressionist painting in a gilded but aging frame.

I’ve had incredible encounters with people that have been this exquisite fuel seeking to ignite the glowing embers inside of me. Some have sputtered. Others have sparked a blazing inferno of passion and creativity nearly burning me up… 

…but everything cools like molten lava, a hard crust atop a fiery river flow.

 

My HEART, my heart is a mosaic of bits of broken, colored glass; rough and polished stones;shimmery bits of fancy paper; and WORDS, lots of words held together not by a solder of blackened lead nor heavy gray mortar, but by a fine silk thread from a carpet baggers satchel of dreams…

My SOUL is a grain of sand that became a pearl in my grandmother’s necklace that is the bracelet encircling my wrist, binding me to my past, anchoring me to my present, the fortune of my future…

19 thoughts on “Me, Me, Me

  1. Madhu says:

    So beautiful Sahbina!
    Love the last thought….my soul …the fortune of my future! 🙂

  2. The You, You, You that I perceive, Sahbinah, is a gifted, imaginative, and inventive writer. THANK YOU! Godspeed. ~Paul

  3. Subhan Zein says:

    This is great: My HEART, my heart is a mosaic of bits of broken, colored glass; rough and polished stones;shimmery bits of fancy paper; and WORDS, lots of words held together not by a solder of blackened lead nor heavy gray mortar, but by a fine silk thread from a carpet baggers satchel of dreams…

    Your description above has been very much similar to my current condition. I’ve been experiencing the same things pretty much like yours.

    Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Subhan Zein…I’m touched that this meant something to you. It’s reassuring to know that we are not alone, that in life all of us go through the same things. Namaste.

      • Subhan Zein says:

        Yes, true. I’ve been going through this difficult moments for nearly nine months now, and it’s been very hard. But this is just another test for our character, right. In the end, what you just gotta keep going. I guess people are right when they say, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”.

        So, let’s keep encouraging each other! 🙂

        Subhan Zein

  4. Bella says:

    “My HEART, my heart is a mosaic of bits of broken, colored glass…” Oh, how I love this visual! I love the emotions this post invokes! I’m happy, sad, and happy again. I think that’s how life’s supposed to be, don’t you think? The more the memories, good or bad, the more colorful the heart! 🙂

  5. Kavi says:

    Sahbinah, you write soooo well!!! Keep up the great writng that is full of soul

  6. sspost says:

    nice blog you have here…really loved this post…..superbly written…!
    will continue reading..!

  7. nancyola says:

    Beautiful and touching!

  8. Lori says:

    You are a perfect masterpiece to me!

  9. Bashar A. says:

    wow, you’re quite the writer… really well written and I enjoyed it very much 🙂

  10. Peggy McCafferty says:

    My heart is touched by your deep insights, poetry, and tenderness.

Leave a Reply

